Damp Hay - How?

/ Damp Hay - How? #1  

chetlenox

Silver Member
Tractor
'07 JD 4520, '44 JD A
Hey all,

The rash of hay-related postings and resulting good advice has motivated me to throw out a recent issue I've had and see if any of ya'll can help me troubleshoot. As background, I've been doing this for only 1.5 years now (I'm on my 5th cutting), so while I'm learning rapidly, I'm relatively new to the whole process as compared to most folks in here.

Background: We cut, raked, and baled (squares) my 1st cutting of winter grasses (mostly Ryegrass and some clover and the odd wildflower or two) 4 weeks ago under very nice conditions. Lots of dry weather, sunshine, and wind. We cut, dried for 2 days, raked, dried for 2 more days, and baled. Before baling, the windrows seemed well-cured (based on my entire 3-cuttings experience). We sold a few hundred bales out of the field, and stacked the rest in the barn for sale.