tedders as conditions

/ tedders as conditions #1  

jimg

Veteran Member
Last night I was talking to my horse owning neighbor and he contends there's no need for a conditioner if a tedder is used. His idea is that the tedder does the work of the conditioner (cracking stems, rubbing up the waxy layer) + fluffing for better air circulation. I must admit Id not thought of a tedder as a flail conditioner but perhaps it is the case although probably not as aggressive. Interesting idea at any rate. What do yo think?

/ tedders as conditions #2  
I'm no engineer, but from my observations of running both machines, the whirling about of hay from tedding is nothing like the process of sending the hay through rollers for a good mashing. I bet the hay comes through a tedder without any significant trauma to the stems and therefore is not really at all "conditioned" by the process, whereas the mashing action of the rollers definitely does a number on the grasses as they pass through. I'll be quite interested to see what others on the forum think on the subject.

/ tedders as conditions #3  
No tedders and conditioners are not the same thing at all. You can tell when you look at a bale that was cut by disc mower and tedded and cut by a mo/co and baled. The mo/co bale is softer and more palatable to the animal. It also seems to give the hay a better color. I have always used mo/co's whether sickle or disc and wont go to sickle or disc alone then hit with a tedder. More trips around the field like that and a waste of fuel. Only time I ted is if the hay gets rained on

/ tedders as conditions #4  
In New England everyone has a tedder. If you don't ted the hay you're making silage bales, wether you like it or not. We usually ted 3 times when it's not dead of summer.

/ tedders as conditions