Looking for a round baler

/ Looking for a round baler #1  

crowbar032

Gold Member
Tractor
MF 150, TO-35, John Deere 5065E, Caterpiller 953 track loader, NH LS170 Skid Steer
Here is my situation. Neighbor lady who is a widow has 13 acres she enrolled in a government hay program. She told me that if I did the work, she would pay for the supplies and I could have the hay. She's had some issues with stuff disappearing and she thinks that if someone (being me and my Dad) are seen going in and out and just generally being seen around that it will stop so the price is worth it to her. I even tried to explain how expensive fertilizer was, but she didn't care. Extention office even tried to explain how expensive it would be, still didn't care.

I have a MF 124 square baler, but it's impossible to find help anymore so I'm looking for a round baler. I'm new to the round baling scene, so I'm kinda lost. I have a John Deere 5065 which is 53 hp at the pto, so nothing that makes a bigger bale than a 4x5 or 5x5 (I assume?). The fields are not steep and fairly smooth. I'm not looking to break the bank and I don't need the latest and greatest equipment. I just want something that will work easily and reliably. What are some things to look for? What features should be must have? Belt or chain? I'd like to spend $5000 or less.

Locally I've located from private individuals:

IH 8440 round baler
HESSTON 5500
New Holand 851 automatic tie
Vermeer 605F

/ Looking for a round baler #2  
if you are going to sell the hay?i would get a 4x5 like a john deere 385 or newer.the balers that make 4x6 bales take more horsepower.i prefer jd and vermeer balers so that is what i recommend.

/ Looking for a round baler #3  
i would try and find a 640 or 644 nh they or one of the best balers ever made with auto wrap and most user friendly with the least electronics

/ Looking for a round baler