4 row planter and 2 row cultivator (is this combination reasonable?)

/ 4 row planter and 2 row cultivator (is this combination reasonable?) #1  

pharmvet

Platinum Member
Tractor
Ford 7710 II FWA, NH TB110 FWA w/ NH 46LB loader, JD 5303 2wd w/ loader
Im new to the row crop scene. For several years I have wanted to have summer food plots (corn, beans, sunflower, millet etc) I have been slowly accumulating equipment and knowledge. I have a 7710 Ford tractor. Because of the gates and trails through the woods that I have to go through to get to some of my food plot sites, I would like to keep the implements from sticking too far outside my wheels. I was considering a 4 row planter and had initially thought I would need a 4 row cultivator to compliment it. However, after really looking at how a cultivator worked, it dawned on me that an "x" row cultivator would always be wider than the same "x" row planter. Therefore, I was thinking of a 4 row planter and then using a 2 row cultivator to work it. Is this reasonable logic ? thanks

/ 4 row planter and 2 row cultivator (is this combination reasonable?) #2  
It will work. It would not worh the other way around but it will work just fine in that combination.

/ 4 row planter and 2 row cultivator (is this combination reasonable?) #3  
Your logic is sound on this one Pharmvet. A # of row cultivator will always clean both sides of your row crop. A two row cultivator will usually be about 90" wide. Row crops width industry standard is usaully set up at 30" but you could easily go much narrower since it's for food plots and not harvesting it.