sod seeding pasture,.what no till dril?

/ sod seeding pasture,.what no till dril? #1  

Bison

Platinum Member
Tractor
ASV 4810
I want to improve my pastures by sod seeding but don't know what brand or model no-till drill I should get or should stay away from.
The different brands and models are many but none are used or even available in my area and I have no experience with these seeders , there's nothing for rent either in my neck of the woods.
All my knowledge so far comes from internet articles about sod seeding.
These are the brands with disc openers that got my attention.( all of them are rather pricy , even used ones):eek:.
Haybuster 1000
Haybuster 107
John Deere 750
Great plains (to many diff models to choose from)
Landpride
Sunflower.
Which of the above seeders do you guys have experience with in overseeding pasture/hay land and what were the results?

My land is sand and sandy loam and slighty rolling , some parcels have stones , some not. my soil never bakes.

What do you say?

/ sod seeding pasture,.what no till dril? #2  
I have rented a 8' Great Plains on several occasions. It worked very well once I got it calibrated for the seed I was using.

Land Pride is a division of Great Plains. The models seem to be the same.

They can be very expensive, even renting isn't cheap.

/ sod seeding pasture,.what no till dril? #3  
The local Conservation District has a rental unit - Great Plains - that has worked well. I believe it's a 10' model; very heavy and comes with it's own trailer that allows the seeder to be loaded lengthwise on the trailer bed. The trailer bed lowers to ground level and then lifts.

The only problem we encountered with the Great Plains was plugging. If you worked the seeder in too wet soil conditions the disc openers would fill up with dirt and stop the seed from dropping down properly.