Farming newbie needs help with implement repair

/ Farming newbie needs help with implement repair #1  

tmac196

Silver Member
Tractor
1951 Ford 8N, 1965 Ford 2000, Grasshopper 325D, JD 5065M
I am new to farming my 8 acre hay field which I use to supply forage for our horse farm. I recently purchased a New Holland 255 Rake/Tedder on consignment from my local CNH dealer. During the initial shakedown run, operating at about 350 RPM on the PTO one of the twelve arms which holds the tines flew off. Inspection revealed the "Split Tension Pin" (as I have subsequently learned they are called) holding the arm to the rotary wheel frame had apparently migrated to one side allowing the arm to detach. I have attempted to remove the pin using hand tools (Ball Peen hammer, penetrating oil, large channel locks in an attempt to pinch the pin and rotate it out) have been fruitless. I need to remove the pin in order to inspect it for damage and, if need be, replace it. I have enclosed some pictures of the problem, which my Mac wants to rotate horizontally instead of allowing me to change their orientation so feel free to rotate your monitor to view correctly.

The tedder/rake missing one of the left-sided arms:
Implement.jpg

A normal-appearing split tension pin for comparison (the tine arm is yellow, the rotary frame is red):

STP_Nml.JPG

Bad pin which has rotated out on the right side of the arm which flew off:

STP_Out.JPG

and in on the left side of the arm which came off:

STP_in.JPG

Questions:

How do you remove split tension pins?
Rusted pins are a guarantee. How do all of you deal with the added problem of these pins being frozen in place due to corrosion?
Is the process of reinserting a pin just the opposite of removing one?

tmac

/ Farming newbie needs help with implement repair #2