Decided I need (want) a UTV

/ Decided I need (want) a UTV #1  

crowbar032

Gold Member
Tractor
MF 150, TO-35, John Deere 5065E, Caterpiller 953 track loader, NH LS170 Skid Steer
Looking at a Polaris Ranger or Yamaha Rhino as they are the two closest dealers. I'm not opposed to a used machine but I'm finding limited selection as apparently everyone wants one of these things. What I have found, I consider to have too high miles/hours to really invest in. So can anyone offer pros/cons and what would you consider high miles/hours (keeping in mind I'm not a mechanic). I'm mainly interested in riding from one end of the farm to the other with chainsaw/tools/fencing/etc. I'm not looking for the "biggest baddest can pull a wagon of hay" one available but I do want 4x4 and would like a dump bed (electric?). I do not want a crew sized machine. My Dad is 74 and won't ride an atv/fourwheeler, but he would drive one of these.

I know this is like asking "what is the best tractor" and I'm going to get 100 different answers. I'm just looking to get ideas and opinions and of questions I should ask when I start seriously looking at buying and what are some common issues.

/ Decided I need (want) a UTV #2  
From what I remember when making a similar purchase the Polaris has some pretty big advantages over the Rhino as far as payload and towing.

/ Decided I need (want) a UTV #3  
Hi,

I got one of the first Rhino's back in 2004, still have it. It was the right width for using in the woods for hunting, etc. The original Polaris UTV's were way too wide - might as well have taken your truck into the woods.

Anyway, since then, Polaris has caught up & has some good offerings, as do others. My advice is to visit the dealers & drive them. Check out their features (dump bed operating ease, etc.), get the dealer's best price, then go home & sleep on it for a week.