Buying a used ATV

/ Buying a used ATV #1  

jjbenson

Tractor
Kubota L3400 and Massey 65 Mark II Dieselmatic, Bobcat 863H, Yanmar B50 Excavator, CAT E70B excavator, Massey 245
Hey guys

I really want a side by side, and I'm about set on a Honda 1000-5. I am going to wait a little while longer so i can pay with cash, so i thought I would get used 4x4 atv. Use will be for slow trail riding and general work in the rocky woods of western maryland. I'm planing on leaving it at my camp in western Maryland. I don't plan on it getting stolen, and will take measures to prevent it. Ive been driving a 1991 Yamaha 250 Moto 4 for the last 20 years, and its getting tired, needs tires, a in general has lots of little issues I am tired of messing with. After looking around on facebook marketplace and craigslist, I see prices all over the place for similar sized machines in the 500cc range. I have seen the same Honda Foreman 4x4 atvs with similar miles priced 1500-2500 apart from the other. I guess what i am looking for is
1. Recommendations for brand/model of used ATV's. I am asking this here because I know what the answer will be on a Honda, Yamaha, Polaris site. I know there is variety here at TBN.
2. Ideas on how to price these machines. Is it just me or is it crazy that a 10 year old 4x4 atv has a 5k asking price?
3. What do you consider high/low hours/miles on a used machine
4. Should I look for EFI or carb'd?

Any all all advice will be thoughtfully considered and is appreciated.

/ Buying a used ATV #2  
Prices are all over the place on those sites because many people will ask well above market value knowing they will be haggled down. If you buy used look at the person, family and the area they are from. It may tell you how the machine was treated. Mine has never left my property more than 5 times and its still 100 hours and 1000 miles in 3 years. I don't abuse it, but its not treated well. Short trips, pulling and farm gas ran through it.

/ Buying a used ATV #3