Question about Motorcycles and seatbelts.

/ Question about Motorcycles and seatbelts. #1  

JohnBoy45

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota L2800DT
Hi, Why doesn't motorcycles have seatbelts just like cars have?

Thanks, Terry.

/ Question about Motorcycles and seatbelts. #2  
Would you want to be strapped to a motorcycle if you went down or got hit??

/ Question about Motorcycles and seatbelts. #3  
On a bike you mostly want to get away from it on the way down. If you were belted to it you would be pulled along the pavement under the weight of the bike and substain VERY major injuries (Roadrash). Plus if the bike goes airborn in a wreck yuo sure dont want to be with it.

/ Question about Motorcycles and seatbelts. #4  
Because you have to have a ROPS or a cab or you are not to use a seatbelt. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

/ Question about Motorcycles and seatbelts. #5  
I have been riding bikes for 19 years, I would not want to belted in if it went down.

However, Next year, The new Honda GoldWings will be equipped with a factory airbag /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif, they say it will slow you down when your leave the bike due to impact...Time will tell if they help reduce injuries though...

/ Question about Motorcycles and seatbelts. #7  
In Israel, they put roll bars or ROPS on ATVs -- I don't know if they have been proven effective.

But I recall a comment made by my neigbor (55 year old professor with 3 Harley's) while discussing helmet use: If you were really concerned about safety you wouldn't be riding a motocycle in the first place. /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif

/ Question about Motorcycles and seatbelts. #8  
Well I persoanlly can't stand when people bring up "safety" with bikes. /forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif /forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif

You can have an accident just walking into a bathtub, using a machine lathe, etc.....shaking my head.