Repower for M600/610

/ Repower for M600/610 #1  

mitchash

Gold Member
Tractor
Mahindra MAX 28XL, Jinma 254 (Sold)
Anyone ever repower a Bobcat M600 or M610 skid steer? They have a 30hp Wisconsin gas V4 engine standard. I found one with a bad engine and was wondering if it was worth buying and fixing up?

/ Repower for M600/610 #2  
The M-600 came with a vf4d which is 25 hp, the M-610 comes with the vh4d which is 30 hp (provided it has a wisconsin engine). I repower all the time but only use the vh4d and it will drop into either model. Plan on + - $3000.00 for the engine. There is also a 35hp Briggs engine they claim is drop in.....I have no experience with it. $2982.95 with free shipping, e-bay. Condition of the machine itself would determine whether it is worth the cost of repower or not.....other parts can run into a considerable sum.

/ Repower for M600/610 #3  
My 600 is repowered with a kohler command 22hp needed a different drive pulley and I moved the pump made a custom engine mount had to fabricate the exhaust and change the main hydraulic lines and you need to add some weight the kohler only weighs 100 lbs. I think the engine is around 1500.00.

/ Repower for M600/610
How is the power of the Kohler for driving the wheels when turning and running the hydraulics?

/ Repower for M600/610 #5  
It seems ok I dont know how the original engine was I bought this partially complete with the newer engine (It was a mess) I just use it around the house for snow removal and whatever .I plan on adapting a backhoe I got off a ditchwitch and bring it up north to clear some land of ours. That will be the real test. They are cool little machines that are very basic and simple to repair ,tons of parts are available.if you could get it cheap they are worth fixing unless you are going to use it professionally then you should get something bigger.

/ Repower for M600/610 #6