873 Bobcat fuel pickup and miscellaneous

/ 873 Bobcat fuel pickup and miscellaneous #1  

reeseman

Tractor
873 Bobcat
Hi every one this is my first time here on the forum and have been reading the post's for hour's now :thumbsup: lol kind of addicting . I read a post here about a fuel pickup repair on a different model # 753 then my 873 and it seems they are similar to replace . I also was reading that the engine had to be pulled to remove the tank. I'm not sure if all 873's are that much different but the repair manual I have says only to remove the the hydro-pump that's above the tank to remove the tank.Ill post that info from the manual. No pictures but if any one really needs them i can also get them.

FUEL TANK
Removal And Installation
Remove the cover (Item 1) [A] which is installed over the
drain plug.

Remove the drain plug (Item 1) .

Drain the fuel into a container.

Check the drain plug and replace if necessary.

Disconnect the fuel fill hose (Item 1) [C].

Remove the hydraulic/hydrostatic filter housing
assembly. (See Page 2–1.)

Remove the engine/hydrostatic pump assembly from the
loader. (See Page 7–1.)

Disconnect the tank vent hose (Item 1) [D].

FUEL TANK (Cont’d)
Removal And Installation (Cont’d)
Remove the bolts (Item 1) [A] from the battery holddown
plate.

Remove the holddown plate from the loader.

Remove the mounting plate (Item 1) for the battery
holddown plate.

Lift the fuel tank and remove it from the loader frame [C].

I also have another problem my chain case keeps getting water in it and for the life of me i can not found out how its getting in there. I need to get this fixed the water can not be good on anything in there and I hear that replacing the chains is very costly it is expensive to keep draining the case and refilling with 10 gal of hydraulic fluid every 6 months . Any one else heard of or seen this problem?