Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Tractor
    Husqvarna yth1848xpt

Default Bobcat S150 skid steer vs. bobcat or kubota tractor...

So, here's the deal..

1. I have a lot, I mean a lot, of tricky landscaping ahead of me that will involve: some areas with pretty steep terrain, rocky soil, digging out least one pond along with dam construction; a lot of small tree removal; pushing over a lot of shallow rooted brush and making burn piles; a lot of gravel road maintenance, moving dirt around to alter the terrain in spots, etc.

2. I have very limited experience with both small kubota tractor/ backhoe and a rented small skid track bobcat with only a FEL. I don't consider myself a skilled or experienced operator, but do pay attention and can learn, especially from my mistakes. I am a lot better mechanic than I used to be.

3. I live in rural Northern California, and (with help from my grown son who is very mechanical minded with engines, hydrolics and the like) want to handle most of my own repairs and maintenance.

I'm thinking of a Bobcat S150, used with low hours if I can find a good deal on one, and, as $$ permit, a clamshell loader, backhoe with thumb, 6 way dozer blade, and maybe a flail mower. My son is a good welder and I envision making some pretty nifty attachments for removing small stumps, and ripping areas I will then push or scoop to get the terrain I want. I like the 49 hp engine, safety features, 16 GPM hydrolics and also keeping the "business end" in front of me as I work. What I am concerned about is getting in over my head with cost and repair issues.

Or.... I could get a kubota, say the L series. It would be a lot less money, easier to work on, but I fear a lot less machine for the jobs I need to do.

I guess I am not hiding my preference, but I would like to hear that I am overrating the bobcat and underrating the tractor option. I mean a lot of folk buy tractors that are not just for playing in a sandbox.....

Counseling would be greatly appreciated.