bobcat agricultural uses

/ bobcat agricultural uses #1  

wkvwguy

Tractor
still looking
While nearing the purchase of a tractor w/ FEL, I ran across a sweet deal on a '96 Bobcat (753? I am unsure of the model but it has a 40HP Kubota diesel and 3000 hrs), 16' foot trailer, & a 1985 F250 dually dump bed for less than a new tractor w/ FEL ($10,000). Problem is I am a newbie to skidsteers. I recently purchased 7 acres of land (hills & bottom land) that had cattle on it 20 years ago, but now is a mixture of undergrowth and trees. I need to bushhog the bottoms, clear the hills, plant approx. 2 acres of corn, etc. How much can I expect the Bobcat to do agriculturally? I know the bobcat will be a stronger loader and more useful all around (especially in 5 years when we build a house), but how effective are they for breaking ground, roto-tilling, etc. Do the adapters that allow the use of 3 pt. hitch tractor implements work well? Also, Are bobcats as stable on hills as a 4 wheel drive compact tractor? Thanks for any help.

/ bobcat agricultural uses #2  
The Bobcat will likely be like a duck out of water, with the uses that you think you need equipment for. I would suggest you visit the Bobcat dealer, and look closely at the attachments they have to offer, and make an educated decision about how much you might have to invest. They will "bush hog" brush, they will till ground, they will move stumps, rocks, and level ground.