range selector jumping out of gear

/ range selector jumping out of gear #1  

bob2299

Bronze Member
Tractor
Bobcat ct230, 35 hp Massey Furgeson 3Cyl Diesel
Hello I am new to your site. I am also new to owning a tractor, just bought mine 2 week ago, and I am having some problems, it is a new CT230, the range selector is out of wack, and the low gears jumps out of gear, their is no grinding when I change range, and if their is it is not allot and all I do then is press the "gas" pedal slightly in forward or reverse, of course I lower the trottle also the high range does not go all the way up, but goes 3/4 of the way up

when I sent a e mail to my dealer this is what I got

All hydrostatic models of the Bobcat Compact Tractor (CT120 thru CT450) use non-synchronized range gears (similar to most competitors) which means it is possible for the tips of the input and output gears to line up perfectly and not engage easily. To move the range lever into gear press the brake pedals then tap the travel pedal slightly in the forward or reverse direction, return the pedal to the neutral position then attempt to engage the range lever into gear. Repeat this procedure if the first attempt is not successful. DO NOT try to force the range lever into gear. This may bend the linkages. This procedure is outlined in the Operator's Manual. Bent range levers and linkages are considered non-warrantable failures due to operator abuse.

Does any one know how to fix this? Oh! I did not force the range selector into gear, the tractor has less than 20 hours on it.

Also one more thing I live in very cold weather today it is -12 C of 9 F yesterday it was colder when the tractor is first started it will not go forward or reverse, it take a while before it will move in any range is it because the oil in the Hydrostatic has to warm up? and what is the procedure to warm up this oil

/ range selector jumping out of gear #2  
Welcome to TBN!

Post your location, helps us to help you.