Buying Advice serial numbers

/ serial numbers #1  

birddriver

I am new to tractors and I am thinking about buying a CT 230. I know they do not come with titles so what do you get? A bill of sale? If a dealer says it is a 2010 tractor how do you know? Are there serial numbers that you can match up to a factory invoice? Any info. you could provide would be helpful, thanks in advance.

/ serial numbers #2  
I am new to tractors and I am thinking about buying a CT 230. I know they do not come with titles so what do you get? A bill of sale? If a dealer says it is a 2010 tractor how do you know? Are there serial numbers that you can match up to a factory invoice? Any info. you could provide would be helpful, thanks in advance.

My CT230 was built the week of Nov 14 2009 and delivered on 12/23/2009. So I would have to imagine that it was one of the first 2010's produced. If the serial number is greater than ABFP1183X, then it should be a 2010 (or newer). Also look at the loader. If the arms are straight it's likely a Bobcat Manf. loader (the most recent iteration). Earlier machines used Rhino Loaders that have a curved boom.

Maybe Wallace will chime in with more specifics.

Steve

Last edited:
   / serial numbers #3  
I don't know if Bobcat uses the same numbering system as Kioti but with the Kioti's, the first charater in the serial number, a letter, is the year starting with an "A" for 2001 and so on. I'm sure Wallace will know and advise when he gets a chance.

/ serial numbers