Brake drums-are they weldable?

/ Brake drums-are they weldable? #1  

digger2

Gold Member
Tractor
kubota B26 TLB,former B7610 owner
Hey guys,
This is kind of strange...me being a welder by trade,but does anybody
know exactly what brake drums are made of and if they are weldable?
I have a old set from a semi trailer,was thinking about making a set of wheel weights out of them,weldability would be a plus in the making of them.
Although i prob. could come up with another way of mounting them,it sure would be easier in my case if they were weldable.
They measure 13 1/4" across,and are about 9" deep...weigh about 55#
as they are (empty),if i filled them solid with say a lead weight/concrete mix i think they would be just the ticket as they do fit right inside the rear wheels on my Kubota.
It needs more traction,and i want to put these drums to good use.
Besides that...its winter.......and i'm bored.
digger2

/ Brake drums-are they weldable?
And before anybody asks.....No, i'm not welding them to the wheels :).
digger2

/ Brake drums-are they weldable? #3  
They should be cast. Which I am sure you know can be welded with nickel rod. Man if you fill them with cement they will weigh a bunch. good luck.

/ Brake drums-are they weldable? #4  
Cast Steel, so weldability should be on those lines. For what you propose, I don't see a problem.
David from jax

/ Brake drums-are they weldable? #5  
There are two different types of brake drums used on tractor trailers. The regular cast type that has been used forever and the newer style forged centrifuge drums.

Sounds like the ones you have are kind of small. A standard heavy class truck or trailer brake drum is 16 1/2 inch's (internal braking surface). If you want even more weight stop by any truck shop and pick up a set of 16 1/2 by 9 drums, they weigh about 100 pounds. As far as welding I have been using them for years as bench grinder stands and wheel weight's. Just weld as you would any cast item.