Bucket Teeth/Home Made?

/ Bucket Teeth/Home Made? #1  

YukonKing

Bronze Member
Tractor
2021 L2501 FEL
Good Day,

I'm thinking of using 1"-1 1/4" solid stock steel, then cutting 8-10" inch lenghths at an angle (for the tooth point) then hard surfacing the point edges, then welding solid to the bucket. Any ideas. I already decided that solid mount would be ok. I don't need to take them off....i hope. Oh well I always can grind the welds out.

Attachments

• 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    21.4 KB · Views: 3,723
   / Bucket Teeth/Home Made? #2  
Will you be using this for manure or dirt? My dad did this on his Case years ago, only he made them longer and bolted them on with 8" of tooth back into the bucket, 6" sticking out(for manure). Make sure that you mount the wide side vertical so the added depth will give you more strength. You may want to also add (weld)some bracing accross the bottom of your bucket to stiffen it. Mine looked strong enough (no tooth bar) until I started lifting big rocks, now it has a slight bow downwards in the middle....

/ Bucket Teeth/Home Made? #3  
It seems to me that it would be easier to buy a toothbar that is removable instead of going to all that work.

/ Bucket Teeth/Home Made?
Well,

As you can see by my name I am from Yukon Canada, unfortunately we are not that fortunate to have access to lots of stores. Any that would sell a tooth bar anyhow. Besides I absolutely lothe ordering stuff, I can't bare the wait.

So I figure 40 bucks worth of steel 10 bucks worth of rod a half a box of wobbly pop should do it. The deffinite drawback will be the "permanense" of it, but once again half a box should get it ground back off.

Plus it will trully tell me if I should have bought her "implants' or just "dentures".

I promise to post pics if I ever get it on the go.

YukonKing

/ Bucket Teeth/Home Made? #5