3pt Tiller

/ 3pt Tiller #1  

8nownerinky

Tractor
1947 8n & 1950 Farmall H
Hey guys,

First let me apologize for bugging you. With the purchase of a brand new tractor possibly in my future, I'm looking more and more towards the build it yourself for my implements. In particular, if I get a new tractor, the little lady would absolutely murder me if I bought a 3pt tiller at the current prices, even used. So.... I was given a gently used troybult tiller a few years ago. It's an older model, but it's been used 4 times at most and has been kept in a garage with the oil changed yearly, etc. My question is - how difficult would it be to convert it to 3pt? Being a novice welder, I figured this would be a great starting project, as if I mess up something I have $10 at most tied up in it. I realize it will not be anywhere near as efficient as the real McCoy and it would not even come close to covering the ruts left by my tires, but being a public servant does not pay well enough for the work we do. I've been thinking about design for quite some time, and I was thinking about using an old quick hitch from Harbor Freight I picked up from the dump a few years ago instead of fabricating all new brackets for the 3pt. Would it be better for me to just weld a few pieces of angle iron to the frame and tow it behind my lawnmower or ATV? I'm thinking that having the ability to raise/lower the tiller as needed would be a plus to the 3pt approach. Of course, all this thinking is taking all my energy away from fabrication :). What do you guys think? I know that whatever I do, I'm going to:

A.) Leave the engine on the tiller and run a longer cable from the throttle to my seat on the tractor(I have some throttle control knobs that came off my fire trucks when I parted them out), as well as a kill switch and push starter button (this particular model has an electronic ignition)