Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Best DIY towable backhoe plans?

I have been reading tons of posts around the net trying to figure out what is the best plans available to build my own towable backhoe? I am leaning towards the CADplans version. I do want to have the angled main boom. (30 degrees?) as from what I have read, you can dig a little deeper.

I have NO experience with building these, so I was hoping that someone who has actually built one, or knows of different variations could give their opinion. I want the best possible design, for digging, comfort of operation, strength, etc.

If you have saved links, pictures, etc, they would be great!

Thanks in advance!

Tractor
    JD 2320

Default Re: Best DIY towable backhoe plans?

Quote Originally Posted by REPO View Post
    I do want to have the angled main boom. (30 degrees?) as from what I have read, you can dig a little deeper.
    I do not have any experience with the towable ones however I did recently complete one for my tractor. I too used the curved boom design.
    I am not certain however whether it contributes to digging depth, I was more of the impression it allowed you to dig closer the the tractor or in your case the transport frame.
    JD 2320, 200CX FEL, Snow Blade, Rotary Mower, 100 Gal 3 Pt Sprayer, Pallet Forks, Backhoe, Subsoiler (for pulling wire) and a Grapple as the next project.

So many projects.....so little time.... and money!

I have been reading your post, you did an amazing job. What plans did you buy?

Tractor
    JD 2320

P.F. Engineering.
    I made a few minor modifications as is usually the case when building something. Like you I like the idea of a towable design. I guess you could say mine is towable as well. I bought a trailer that I can load the tractor and BH on. I wanted to build the trailer as well, especially since I work for a trailer manufacturer however, building two major projects at the same time would be more than I could handle, or the wife would allow!