New and yup, ANOTHER log splitter project

/ New and yup, ANOTHER log splitter project #1  

Wineslob

Hi all. I "stumbled" across these forums while searching for "how to build a log splitter"
I've been a maintenance man/plant engineer/stupidvisor in a coating manufacturing plant for over 20 years. I do everything from, fix tha chit to design and build what we cant find, don't have, ect. So I can weld, machine, and figure out how to make it work.

On to the log splitter. I've trolled here for roughly 2 weeks getting as much info as possible. I've got all the parts to start construction of this project.

1. I'm on a very restricted budget.

2. WAF of monies spent on this is very low, see #1

3. I went with the 18" "log splitter" cylinder from here: https://www.surpluscenter.com/item.asp?UID=2009083113122534&item=9-7178&catname=hydraulic, 11gpm 2500 psi 2 stage pump, and the "log splitter" control valve.
4. My wood burning stove is designed for 16" firewood (max, trust me), so I'll never be splitting anything longer. Most rounds I get are 18" and smaller in dia. Thats why the 18" cyl, plus at $40 it works with #1 & 2. I've got it at the house and the quality is pretty darn good for the money. So no worries about it being crap.
5. Most of the wood around here is pine, walnut (orchards), oak, or almond (orchards again). Nothing really 'hairy" to try and split.

Now I've got a "bug" up my butt. I'm just throwing this out there. Could I run 2 of these cyl in tandem? Say, one one top of the other? Would this double the tonnage? (my best guess would be 16 T)
At a cost of 40 bucks for one more cyl, it's doable (see #1 & 2) and I like to think up stuff like this :p .

Thoughts?

/ New and yup, ANOTHER log splitter project #2