Remote function on front of tractor...

/ Remote function on front of tractor... #1  

tommcintire

Bronze Member
Tractor
New Holland T2310
Want to add a remote function on the front of the tractor (think Grapple, Snowplow, etc).

One option is obviously the override of the curl function. Lots of people have written about doing that... :)

Has anyone added an electric powerpack to their tractor for an additional function? Something like this:
https://www.surpluscenter.com/item.asp?UID=2009121515403362&item=9-7883&catname=hydraulic

Curious for the experiences of others. Seems like an attractive alternative (doesn't interfere with the curl function).

-Tom

/ Remote function on front of tractor...
Thanks for that idea. I like it, and I can see how I would do it. I have quick-disconnects for the hydraulics for the loader, so I could tie in there...

Here's where I get a bit queasy, however. I have never done hydraulics before... :). I don't recognize the types of fittings, etc...

As a result, a few "dumb" questions...

Is there basically just one style of quick-disconnect, with assorted sizes available? The ones on my tractor use a ball-bearing like center to keep fluid from leaking (I have a NH T2310).

How do you bleed the lines? Does the air just escape out past the cylinder seals, or do I need to manually bleed first? On something that produces 2000 PSI, I am not sure how I approach this...

For NPT threads, how do I seal the threads? Teflon tape?

I've done plumbing, electrical, air lines, and more wood construction than I care to remember, but never hydraulics. Got to cut my teeth sometime, but I don't want to screw up my tractor in the process... :)

-Tom

/ Remote function on front of tractor... #4  
Tom,