3 pt hitch Land Leveler??

/ 3 pt hitch Land Leveler?? #1  

sos1

Bronze Member
What kind of design is needed to get the best job from one of these. I've seen wheels, no wheels, wheels extended longer distances, ...etc. I have a JD 314 I'm using with a landplane inside a 3' box blade. I'm not satified with the job it does. It seems to follow the ground contour too much. Would gauge wheels help? If so where should they be located? How about overall length?:confused:

/ 3 pt hitch Land Leveler?? #2  
I'm no expert but i know a friend who added more weight in the form of sandbags and it helped his work better. Good luck

/ 3 pt hitch Land Leveler?? #3  
Its the 3 ft box ,It is not wide enough to do anything but follow the ground, Try simply adding a new cutting edge thats wider.just a thought.
Army Grunt

/ 3 pt hitch Land Leveler??
Research has led me to the thought that a floating top link should correct the problem. I'm also going to add 12" to the width to make 48".

/ 3 pt hitch Land Leveler?? #6  
Research has led me to the thought that a floating top link should correct the problem. I'm also going to add 12" to the width to make 48".

I think that a floating top link is going to allow your implement to roll forward and you may not get the result that you are looking for. Maybe try it very slow without a top link at all and you will see what I'm talking about.

I agree with teg, a picture of what you're working with would be nice also. You know what they say, a picture is worth a thousand words. ;)

/ 3 pt hitch Land Leveler?? #7  
Any method of leveling needs to have a mechanism to average the heights of various points.

Category 1: 3PH full lift. (Only supported by the 3PH) You are cutting at a level determined by the tractor wheels. There are two issues with this: