ingersolrand air compressor

/ ingersolrand air compressor #1  

mechanic

Silver Member
I'm looking at the 3hp SS3L3 AND NEED TO KNOW WHAT SIZE BREAKER YOU HAVE IT CONNECTED TO. THE SPECIFICATION SAY 14.7 AMPS. i HAVE A 30 AMP BREAKER AND #10 GUAGE WIRE ALREADY ON THE CIRCUIT. WHAT IS YOURS CONNECTED TO. I HAVE NEVER USED ANYTHING BIGGER THAN 30 AMPS BEFORE. CAN YOU TELL WHAT YOU HAVE ON YOURS?

/ ingersolrand air compressor #2  
I'm looking at the 3hp SS3L3 AND NEED TO KNOW WHAT SIZE BREAKER YOU HAVE IT CONNECTED TO. THE SPECIFICATION SAY 14.7 AMPS. i HAVE A 30 AMP BREAKER AND #10 GUAGE WIRE ALREADY ON THE CIRCUIT. WHAT IS YOURS CONNECTED TO. I HAVE NEVER USED ANYTHING BIGGER THAN 30 AMPS BEFORE. CAN YOU TELL WHAT YOU HAVE ON YOURS?

30 amps will be more than enough. A 3 horse power i assume 220 volt (as most compressors are) would probibly run ok on a 20 amp , 240 circuit (assuming the unit is fairly new and the brushes arnt worn too badly), but you can protect any motor up to 125% over the full load amps to allow for motor starting loads. I install all larger compressors on 30 amp circuits with #10 wires.

/ ingersolrand air compressor #4  
BTW: In my own recent shopping for this level of compressor ($599 at TSC, $499 at Lowes, etc), they all mention that "it runs very hot". The compressed air is very hot and will discolor the paint on the tank. One evaluator stated that he change the air delivery pipe (pump to tank) from 1/4" to 1/2" and this helped lower the air temperature.

What's your experience with this compressor? I need to upgrade to run an enclosed sand blaster (12 cfm recommended).

/ ingersolrand air compressor #5