Refinishing hardwood floors

/ Refinishing hardwood floors #1  

ddb123

Platinum Member
Tractor
Bad Boy MZ 42"
Hi guys,

I figured this would be a good topic to bounce off the TBN crowd. My house has mostly hardwood floors. Some of these floors are pretty old and worn. A couple spots look like a kid intentionally carved geometric shapes into it. I am ready to refinish the floors and get them looking gorgeous again. I don't know anyone who has tackled such a project on their own, nor do I know anyone who does this kind of thing for pay. Can anyone advise me as to the feasibility of doing this on my own? I am 30 and able-bodied, but (and I know this anathema for a tractor owner) honestly not very handy. I have a garage full of basic power tools that I can use well enough, but I have no experience with any type of construction, and I'm definitely no craftsman. My worry is that I would end up over-sanding the floor and damaging the wood itself. This seems to happen every time I sand wood (about the only thing I know how to build is beehives). I also seem to screw up stain when I apply it, so applying the finish to my precious floors is worrisome. My other worry is that I would wind up taking weeks or months to finish the project when really it's my living space, I need it to live in. So as a secondary question (this is a long shot), does anyone know who in the Joplin, MO area does this kind of thing?

To recap, since that was a bit of a ramble: 1) Is this too hard for a person like me to tackle, and 2) if so, does anyone happen to know someone who does this around the Joplin, MO area?

Thanks, tractor crowd :D

/ Refinishing hardwood floors #2  
There are two types of sanders to refinish with,a drum sander,and a random orbital,both should be available from local rental source. The drum sander is more aggressive and more likely to gouge the floor,must keep it moving at all times. Can be done with a little practice,random orbital is much more forgiving.