Logging winch

/ Logging winch #1  

jesker

Tractor
bobcat
I am looking at building a 3 pt logging winch. I have been looking at several different brands and I thing i can build one for a lot less money. I am a welder fabricator by trade, so that part is not the issue. what i need help with is the winch part of it. PTO Or hyd and sizes that i would need stuff like that. I have a Bobcat ct 450 (50 hp) tractor

/ Logging winch #2  
Hey jester. Try building a heavy duty square frame with a 3 point hook up. Use a heavy piece of 2x6 tubing for a top link. Use tongs attached to tubing to pick up your log enough to get chains around it. Skid it out, works great. I used an old 3 point bale carrier to make mine. It works great. Be sure to add weight up font! Check out the log skidding machine thread. It's ugly, but works really well! The tubing is 3/8's wall.

/ Logging winch #3  
There's a guy down the road from me who built one using a 8000# pto wrecker winch. Very strong but slow. I've also seen several guys use hydraulic winches with a pto pump and separate tank. It's also easier to reverse a hydraulic winch. I also thought of building one but ended up buying an fx 90 wallenstein which has worked great. Just be sure if you build one that you don't use use to big of winch or you risk tearing your tractor up. You might stay in the 8000 to 10000 range for your tractor. I think it would make a great project and would like to see what you come up with. Good luck!

/ Logging winch #4