Planning my pole barn, Suggestions welcome.

/ Planning my pole barn, Suggestions welcome. #1  

Ryan03

Platinum Member
Tractor
Farmtrac DTC270, Kubota G5200hydro, Honda recon 250, Suzuki King Quad 450 4x4, 2003 2500 DMax/Allison 4x4
I hope to break ground on my pole barn shop this summer. I am fairly new to building with wood, but very handy with steel, electricity, and anything hydraulic and or mechanical. I was hoping to get some feedback on my initial plans by the TBN members who are much more experienced with pole barns than myself.

Here are a few relevant local building codes.

6x6 Treated ground contact post required

All footings must be min 42 in. deep. Hole must be 12in dia.

Maximum post spacing is 8ft.

Maximum truss spacing is 4ft.

Double 2x12 header required [both sides of top of post]

Max building height is 35ft

Minimum roof snow load rating is 30lbs. psf.

Here is what I am thinking

32x42, 12ft min wall height, or 14ft max.

4/12 pitch roof, trusses 24in on center, 12 in overhangs. Undecided on steel or asphalt shingle. Cost could be an issue.

Post 6ft on center, 12dia x 48in deep hole with 6in of cement in bottom for post to sit on.

Side sheeted with OSB, Tyvec wrap, and vinyle siding.

One 16x10 or 12 insulated overhead garage door on gable end, offset to one side.

One man door on rear gable end of building.

I am planning on farming out the truss setting for sure, as well as the roof. I am considering drilling, and cementing post holes, as well as setting post my self [have a FEL.] I am also considering installing wall girts and wall sheeting OSB and Tyvec by myself. I would Farm out the overhead garage door and vinyle siding. I would like to try and get a weathered complete shell up minus electrical and concrete for $12,000 to $15000. The closer to 12k the better. What do you guys think, feasable or not. Do you see anything I missed or should add.
Thanks, Ryan.

/ Planning my pole barn, Suggestions welcome. #2