Stump Grinder Build

/ Stump Grinder Build #1  

woodlandfarms

Tractor
PowerTrac 1850, Kubota RTV x900
So I have been playing with the idea of a stump grinder for a number of years. The issues are cost for a new one (3 to 7K depending on how you go) or getting lucky with a used one. My tractor is fully hydraulic (like a skid steer) so it limits me on where to purchase one.

This all said, I finally had enough saved up to build my own. I am no engineer, and this has the wife in complete fits. the spinning wheel of death is her assumption.

Anyway, so this is the start of it. I am happy to take notes, but pretty set in my design. I think will compete the project in the next two weeks.

The implement is based on 6" C channel and Ship Channel. The wheel is custom made 20" with Green Teeth cutters. It is driven by a 4.6 cu motor turning at 800RPM based on my 18 GPM/3000PSI PTO circuit. The wheel runs sideways. Meaning you roll forward and back for the cut, you do not turn.

Costs to date
120 for the C Channel - Attach plate already exists but if you bought, add another $50.
160 for the motor (Surplus Center)
60 for the shaft (Ebay)
70 for the pillow blocks (Ebay)
350 for the green teeth (Kinda Ebay)
320 for the spinning wheel of death (This is being machined for me)
70 for the Love Joys (Ebay)
30 for the hub (Ebay)
250 for hoses and connectors (OUCH) I never budget correctly for these. (Local Hydraulic store)
50 for odds and ends so far (bolts, drill bits).
75 for poorly purchased parts (motor mount and hub for wheel)

Not included is the new plasma cutter and welder

Attachments

• IMG_20140708_093532_064.jpg
    IMG_20140708_093532_064.jpg
    62.7 KB · Views: 878
  • IMG_20140708_155504_264.jpg
    IMG_20140708_155504_264.jpg
    80 KB · Views: 684
  • IMG_20140708_160153_759.jpg
    IMG_20140708_160153_759.jpg
    75.2 KB · Views: 753
  • IMG_20140708_160201_156.jpg
    IMG_20140708_160201_156.jpg
    65.3 KB · Views: 776
  • 16 Wheel.pdf
    86.5 KB · Views: 506