3-point concrete placer?

/ 3-point concrete placer? #1  

ishiboo

Platinum Member
Tractor
Kioti NX6010HSTC, Cat 279c
I am considering doing my driveway in concrete... but I've never done concrete before. I'd like to have the knowledge though. A good place to start seems to be a parking pad next to the barn.

One idea I had is creating a tool for placing concrete that I would pull behind the tractor. Basically, it would be fixed for the width, and be a simple rectangular box. It would have wheels on each side which would ride on the 2x4 or 2x6 forms. The concrete truck would place the concrete in this box, which would then be pulled forward, essentially handling the entire "distributing concrete" and screeding process. The rear board could even simply move back and forth to act as a true screed if necessary.

My feeling is this would allow 2 people plus the driver to essentially place the concrete, removing a ton of back-breaking work and leaving only the finishing process for manual labor.

What am I missing here? This seems like it would work, but it also seems too simple and cheap that someone else would have done it. There are some minor logistics issues, in this design the concrete truck would have to drive next to the rig, and there would need to be enough space between the rear of the tractor and the box to allow room for pulling the wire mesh up. But it seems doable.

/ 3-point concrete placer? #2  
I've done a few concrete placements and I'm considering the same projects. I doubt a good truck driver will have any problems placing concrete just where you need it. Watching an experienced finisher work with a power screed and a power trowel is an worthwhile education . You can probably rent this equipement to DIY---Trevor

/ 3-point concrete placer? #3