question, lifting/draging logs

/ question, lifting/draging logs #1  

oakwood

Tractor
kubota 7200
hello fellow tractor nuts /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif im new to this sight and have made only one posting. but i do enjoy the information you can pick up here,,not to mention the humor. i have a kubota B7200 that i want to use to lift and transport logs out of the forest. im sure this has been discussed before in here but i couldnt locate it. would it be safe to use the 3 pt. lift in back for picking up logs and draging them. im inclined to think the draging might put undo strain on the rear of the tractor. if so, then how should the logs be attached/ secured for draging? this will probly be an easy one for you veterans. but us newtractor owners have to get our education somewhere /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif any imput will be appreciated,,,oakwood

/ question, lifting/draging logs #2  
I have a B7100. I use the three point to lift and drag. Lifting gives me more traction. The front bucket is also full of rocks to prevent a back flip when I do this.

Egon

Last edited:
   / question, lifting/draging logs #3  
Hello Oakwood and welcome to this site.

The topic you raise has been discussed before as many of us use our tractors for that purpose. Many have used the 3PH to drag logs and there are devices that attach to a 3PH that can assist you in lifting the end of a log some with hydraulic arms.

I made a log hauling trailer to move logs out of the woods. I can lift the whole log off the ground and transport it to another location. The biggest log I have moved was around 24" diameter by 12' long. The advantages to lifting the whole log off the ground is they stay cleaner, don't damage the ground, and are easier to move.

Now that the wife has purchased a digital camera I will try to post a few pictures of this device. It cost me around $150.00 to build but this was over 20 years ago.