Building trailer...what size steel do I need?

/ Building trailer...what size steel do I need? #1  

chrism16

Tractor
Kubota/5640
Hi all I am a golf course mechanic and am looking to build a single axle trailer for a 500gal water tank in order to irrigate some sod and new landscape being planted in a few months. I already have the tank, axle and wheels but I need to start ordering steel and Im not sure of exactly what size and gauge I need. This water wagon will only be pulled at about 5mph by a tractor and the tank wont be filled more then 3/4 full. As far as size I am thinking 6X10 should be sufficient for the tank, pump and small engine along with hoses. The total weight I am figuring should be close to 5000lbs. I have seen some plans on the internet for 3500lb utility trailers but nothing for any heavier. I have a pretty good idea how to build it but I guess my question is should I use channel steel and if so what size? There is not going to be any decking...I am going to bolt the tank directly to the frame and make platform for engine and pump. If anyone can give me an idea of what type of steel I should use it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

/ Building trailer...what size steel do I need? #2  
There is a reason you don't find plans for larger trailer online. Moving this much weight requires specific engineering requirements and welding.
Your plan is to not take it on the road or fill it up but in the future someone else may.
I would get some consultation from a fabricator that builds trailers. That is a lot of weight to stop.

Good luck with the project.

/ Building trailer...what size steel do I need? #3  
The water alone will be pushing 4200#. So 6k total weight with trailer, pumps, etc would be a closer target. And for that I would want more than a single axle. Not that you cannot get a single axle to handle the weight, but for load distribution. 6k on two smallish tires of a 7k axle is gonna leave some ruts.