Grapple Build, suggestions for bushings

/ Grapple Build, suggestions for bushings #1  

willysmb

Bronze Member
Tractor
Massey 1736
I am going to be building a grapple for my new tractor. When it comes to plate steel I have no problem. I have a CNC plasma table, welders, etc so building the actual grapple I have no problem with.

I have little experience with hydraulics but I have a good connection for that so I am just going to turn that over to a pro.

What I need some help with is suggestions for what I should do for bushings. Assuming I go with a typical tractor supply cylinder like the one listed below what should I do as far as bushings?

Cylinder
Grizzly Tie Rod Cylinder, 12 Stroke x 3 in. dia. - For Life Out Here

/ Grapple Build, suggestions for bushings #2  
Ask your local steel supplier about thick walled dimensional tubing. I used some for bushings for a project about 10 years ago. You can drill it and tap it for grease fittings. It was not cheap- I think it was about $15-20 per foot.

/ Grapple Build, suggestions for bushings
I might be overthinking it. Lets say the bolt I am going to use that attached the top of the grapple to the bottom is 3/4". If I were to get a bronze/brass bushing with an ID of 3/4" and an OD of 1" and then press that into some 1.5" .250 wall DOM (1"ID) then would that work for my purposes?

/ Grapple Build, suggestions for bushings #4  
Yes- that is the most professional way to do it- but most heavy equipment uses greasable steel bushings.

If you were wanting to save some time and $, I would just use the 3/4" ID dimensional tubing for the 3/4" hinge pin, then drill/tap it for a grease zerk and use the plasma cutter to make a 1" diameter hole in the frame of the grapple then weld the dimensional tubing in place.

/ Grapple Build, suggestions for bushings #5