Air Compressors, any recommendations?

/ Air Compressors, any recommendations? #1  

willy44

Tractor
John Deere 2240
I need to get a new air compressor to replace the old Craftsman ( which is really loud!). I don't run a huge shop and I don't sand blast but I still run all the usual tools ( die grinders, impacts etc.). Now because I am a student I have to insert this disclaimer, I'm not made of money :money:. I was looking at the single stage 60 gallon models of all the brands, but having never owned one that large I don't have any experience in knowing which ones are bad or good. The Ingersoll Rand tools I've used were really good tools but the ss3L3 air compressor they make gets terrible reviews. On the other hand the Puma PK6060v compressor gets good reviews and is the same price. The Quincy Q13160VQ seemed to have some plastic parts on it which wasn't to appealing, but hey most of the cars now are all plastic. The compressor is going to be used to work on cars, and restore an H (separate thread once I get the necessary equipment) and I would like to paint the tractor myself so ideally it should run an hplv paint gun. It seems to me just by reading the specs a 60 gallon single stage should work, but I'm open to suggestions.

Does anyone have any experience with any of these compressors?
A quiet air compressor is my goal so does anyone know if any of these models are quiet? Or does anyone know of a model that is more quiet?
How is the customer service of these brands or any recommended brands?

I know its a lot of questions :confused: but I don't want to buy one twice or deal with constant problems.

/ Air Compressors, any recommendations? #2  
Get a belt driven oil lubricated one. Those oil free ones are noisy crap that die quick. The slower the pump turns, the quieter as a general. so get a big slow pump that puts out the CFM & pressure you need over one that spins faster.