Flux wire welder

/ Flux wire welder #1  

RHughes

Silver Member
Tractor
New Holland TN65
Has anyone ever used one of those flux wire welders for light welding? I have a stick welder and have used MIG welders with great success, but I'm unfamiliar with the flux wire models.
Can they produce a bead as clean as a MIG on light work?

I was wondering if it would be worth getting one of the small, cheap 115V models for sheet metal work. I don't do much of that and it doesn't seem worth it to sink $400-$600 into a bigger MIG unit with gas on top of that.

Thanks for the input! /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

/ Flux wire welder #2  
The flux core will not be as clean as a gas MIG. It will be easier to use on sheet metal than your stick welder though.

/ Flux wire welder #3  
I have one, Its the weld pak 100. I am no expert, not even an accomplished hobbist but it works. I have welded 18 gauge sheet metal and got some pretty nice results. Is it as clean as gas, on occasion but not real often /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif OE maybe. If I were going to do it again I would and will get the Miller 210 it will let me weld shetmetal and 3/8? in a single machine. I would not get rid of the 110 though, I plug it in and I can weld anywhere with a 15A ckt.

/ Flux wire welder #4  
I have a Hobart 135. It is an 120V unit. It came with flux core. It also came with the regulator and can use the shielding gas. I have been meaning to get out get the gas, but the flux core has worked so well that it has fell down on my list of priorities.

Depends on what you want to do. I doubt the flux core will ever look as nice, but for general use, it is great.

/ Flux wire welder #5