I found a great deal on a welder I think?

/ I found a great deal on a welder I think? #1  

stevenf

Platinum Member
Tractor
Kubota M9000
Hi everybody, I know you get tired of answering the same questions but PLEASE comment on my find, I plan on buying it as soon as Home Depot opens in the morning barring any reason why not. Home Depot is having a 20% off sale and they have a Lincoln AC/DC 225-125 model number K1297 on sale that was already marked down the final cost is $309.60 + tax. I've been dreaming of a AC/DC welder since a discussion on them months ago, I have virtually no experience with any type of welder but this one seems to fit the bill. Can anyone tell me what the thickest metal I can weld would be with this machine? Is this a good model to be looking at for a absolute novice welder? I know most of you recommend taking a welding course and trying different models but the sale only last until the weekend and the local store only has two of them so if figure buy it first and then enroll in a course since it looks like the closest web price is around $400. I don't think its a kit so I'll have to run to Harbor freight and buy an auto darkening hood but they have them on sale often, hopefully right now so I can unbox it and try it out. What rod would be a good generic type to use for most implements and tractor type welding. Would you use AC or DC just starting out? Any other questions that I haven't asked that you find important to know please share them. I'll be using the welder at the house and have the ability to wire in the plug myself, I have a choice of either my utility room or the pole shed for my plug to achieve a 240 volt power source without running new cable providing it requires 50 amps or less.
Thanks to anyone that responds.
Steve

/ I found a great deal on a welder I think? #2  
heckuva deal!! I'd jump on that immediately!!!