Ground speed

/ Ground speed #1  

GT2

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota L-35
Hi all, noob here.;)
I'm researching building my own compact tractor.
What is an exceptable ground speed in MPH for low gear and high?

/ Ground speed #2  
What will this tractor be doing? If it is just mowing yards, I would go with a higher speed gearing, if plowing, dozing, etc, may need to gear toward lower speed. Need more info. Where are you located?

/ Ground speed
BTDT said:
What will this tractor be doing? If it is just mowing yards, I would go with a higher speed gearing, if plowing, dozing, etc, may need to gear toward lower speed. Need more info. Where are you located?
Mostly light digging, pulling on some stumps, moving rocks.

/ Ground speed #4  
Sounds interesting. Where are all the parts for this tractor coming from, did you inherit a junkyard?

/ Ground speed #5  
Welcome to Tractorbynet, Tim. I don't know what materials you plan to use to build a tractor, but you can go to some of the manufacturers' websites and look at the specs on different models. They do vary a bit, but just as an example: I used to have a Kubota B7100 that had a top speed of about 9 mph, then a B2710 that had a top speed of almost 12 mph (11.9 I believe, to be exact). They both had hydrostatic transmissions so it was infinite speed up to those limits. For a geared tractor, I'd say you want one mph or less for things such as running a tiller; maybe a little more would be OK for some other jobs.

/ Ground speed
Bird said: