Need Advice have 5 acres (Looking for first tractor)

/ Need Advice have 5 acres (Looking for first tractor) #1  

VRF201

Hi and hello to all!

Newbie here! :eek:

I just purchased a house with 5 acres and a Kubota GS1800 54 cut.
I'm looking to upgrade to a newer bigger tractor to maintain the property.
My starting point is 30 hp. The land is mostly grass and flat with some brush removing needs.

Would like to stay under 18,000 if possible?

Thanks to all that reply! :D

VRF201 (Roy)

/ Need Advice have 5 acres (Looking for first tractor) #2  
If you want the tractor for tasks other than mowing, I'd look at the Kioti CK30. It's a great tractor and you should be able to get one in your price range.

/ Need Advice have 5 acres (Looking for first tractor) #3  
Hey Roy,

Keep the G1800, compliment it with a tractor. I'm in the same boat - 7 acres and a Kubota TG1860 mower. I'm keeping the TG1860 to mow in and around "stuff" like my wife's flower beds :D and buying a real tractor with a rotary mower and loader to do the manly "stuff". For 18000.00 you can get a Kubota L3400 HST; I probably will spend an extra 2000.00 for the L3240 HST even though it means remodeling the barn door.

Good luck and have fun shopping!

Dave

/ Need Advice have 5 acres (Looking for first tractor) #4  
First, welcome to TBN. you gave us very little to go on for your needs, so here's some things to think about.
What dealers are close by and what level of service will you get from them.
What do you need to do with the tractor? Do you plan on a garden? any digging or materials movement?

personally, I recommend a fel on any new tractor purchase...once you own one you'll know why.

/ Need Advice have 5 acres (Looking for first tractor) #5  
mid 20's to 30 is a decent range.

Get a 4' or 5' brush cutter to go along with that tractor. Decide on how long you want certain tasks to take, and size your tractor / implements from there.

Are you looking to get a loader?

Soundguy

VRF201 said: