New tractor or used?

/ New tractor or used? #1  

PetersonQH

Okay newbie here, with questions. I have a 13ac lot, and we currently own 6 horses with about 2.5 ac pasture, mostly for day turnout, 2ac lawn, and about 8-9ac we try and do our own hay, between job, weather, and horses in training.

I currently own a 40' AC WC45, and a 47' MM U. A NH 66 Baler, and an Oliver Rake. This equipment is getting old and it seems everytime I go to use it something else is wrong. The MM is currently out of commission due to a rear flat and steering gear has sheared a key? The AC just had a rear tire replaced and now the battery is shot. The baler works about half, as it will tie good for a while, then start giving me fits on tying. The rake needs a little TLC also.

Here is the question, I was looking at first getting a replacement for the old tractors, but don't know whether I should look at used ie: Ford 4000 or similar, or get something new, and not have any issues with the upkeep, that the older models take. I would also like to get a small haybine, and newer baler, ie NH 273 or similar, spreader, and box/scraper blade, and eventually may need a loader? I know short list huh?

I ahve discussed the pluses and minuses with the wife of having someone doing our baling for us and just getting a smaller tractor for maintenance around the property, but she sees that s throwing money out the window, and having to rely on someone else's schedule to get the hay done, shich we have missed opportunities in the past doing this, and missing a cutting.

I don't knwo if this will be a two three year purchase on some of the equipment , but I obviously don't have the dough to peuchase all this at once. What are your opinions?

Sorry so long winded!
Mark

/ New tractor or used? #2  
Mark,