Kubota vs. John Deere...

/ Kubota vs. John Deere... #1  

tractorcoy

Hey everybody, i'm new to this, i'm a young guy looking to buy a tractor around the 70 or 80 HP range and can't decide between a Kubota or a John Deere. I don't know a whole lot about either but I hear good things about both and I am just curious of the expense for maintenance and upkeep on them both. Anyone have any opinions?

I will use it for general farm work on a 150 acre farm. (bushhog, hay, etc.)

Tractorcoy...

/ Kubota vs. John Deere... #2  
Both are nice rigs. What features are you looking for? Open, Cab, 2wd, MFWD ect...
I just bought a MF a fews months ago and nearly went to a Kubota(and I really like MF's). The dealer was just a little farther away and the MF dealer traded a little better. Here in my part of OK you will find that Kubota is significantly cheaper in price than JD on a comparable models once you get up to the 90-125 hp range of tractor. I'm not sure of the pricing on the 70-80 hp models. Maintenance wise I'm not sure there would be a big difference. I have been avoiding models that are heavy into electronics in the dash panels and transmissons. I just don't feel good about how well all that will hold up over the long term. Dealers have assured me that my feelings on the subject are not well founded, so....it may be something to think about or not.
Good luck shopping.

/ Kubota vs. John Deere... #3  
Welcome to TBN!

Your question is a good one, too bad there are no hard and fast answers! Both companies are top tier tractor producers. Both are 100% imported up to about 50 hp or so, then the JD might be domestic. Can't remember the break where they produce on shore - it may be higher hp even. If that's important to you.