JD 3520 or Kubota Grand L3940?

Status
Not open for further replies.
   / JD 3520 or Kubota Grand L3940? #1  

lilyflynn

Tractor
Kubota L4630
Hello to all, this is my first TractorByNet post although I've been lurking for awhile. All of this while patiently waiting to close on a small land purchase in Eastern Washington (boy it's tough to get home financing these days). During that time I've been shopping for tractors and have narrowed it down to the JD 3520 and Kubota Grand L3940 both with Hydro/type transmissions and AG tires. I'm a total rookie when it comes to tractors and have a JD and Kubota dealer who have suggested these models. I'm close to pulling the trigger on the Kubota as it just seems to better engineered, but I'm still interested in the JD 3520.

My land is 10.5 acres in the Cascade foothills. It sits at 2300 feet and over the four winter months we can get about two to four feet of snow. I have about 2000 feet of gravel road to maintain. I will need to move snow in the winter. I have two dealers with two different opinions, one is pushing an after market snow blower (at $5500.00 with the required sub-frame), the other says all I'll ever need is a blade. Obviously there is a big difference in cost. I like the idea of a blower but would like some feedback from those of you who have used both. Is the blower worth the extra money?

My acreage is about half grass/field and brush and the other space has large pines and aspens. The area around the aspens and pines needs to be brushed out and some thinning of aspens will need to be done. The land has some slope to it in areas but nothing drastic. There is some nice lawn around my house and that will be mowed with a small JD lawn tractor with a 38 finish blade.