Small tractor transport..

/ Small tractor transport.. #1  

Schneeky

Silver Member
..Anybody care to suggest some ways of securing a tractor to the trailer for transport.? Luckily, I already had an F250D and a nice dovetail tandem trailer for hauling other stuff.. But I'd like to know how some of you are strapping it to the trailer.. I went out today and bought a few 14' lengths of 3/8 "Trucker's Chain" and some matching ratcheting tighteners..
..Might be a schtoopit question but ya never know.. Mebbe I can get some useful info and save a headache..
Over-simplifying things has proven to be both dangerous and expensive in the past.. d:^) Schneeky..

/ Small tractor transport.. #2  
I used to haul equipment for a living. There is alot of flexibility on chaining things down, and everybody does it differently, but a couple basic principles.

On a small tractor, (mine) I put a clevis through the draw bar hole, and run a chain through that, and run another chain through (around) the front bumper assembly. The rear chain pulls rearward, and the front chain pulls forward. You don't really want the chains pulling down vertically, as this can allow some forward or backward movement. On the rear, you could also go around the axle shafts with 2 separate nylon straps. That's another option.

If you have a loader, put it all the way down. Not really necessary to chain that too. It won't go anywhere, but you can if you want. Won't hurt.

Also, if my backhoe is attached, (there may be some disagreement here, but this is my feeling) I lay the boom down on the deck so the extra weight is not being carried by the tractor. Then I chain that to the deck too. A 1000LB backhoe bouncing down the road at highway speed can't be good for a small tractor, or the pivot pins for that matter.