Compact Tractor vs Skid Steer

/ Compact Tractor vs Skid Steer #1  

parisq

I'm sure old beards have heard this more than a few times but even they were newbies once. I've just purchased a 90 acre farm and need a versatile machine to do a number of things. Although I do have lawn and hayfields, I don't need finish mowing, haying or baling. What I do need is snowplow/throwing, tall, heavy brush clearing, including thick saplings, deep digging (9'+) and some field grading for horse pastures and corral, but not for planting. I had spent most of my time concentrating on compact tractors (Kubota and New Holland 45-60 HP range -- those makes only because there are local dealers to my central Massachusetts location). A New Holland dealer suggested I give the skid steers a look (LS 180), so now I'm a confused newbie starting from scratch. A little help, please.

/ Compact Tractor vs Skid Steer #2  
I'm sure old beards have heard this more than a few times but even they were newbies once. I've just purchased a 90 acre farm and need a versatile machine to do a number of things. Although I do have lawn and hayfields, I don't need finish mowing, haying or baling. What I do need is snowplow/throwing, tall, heavy brush clearing, including thick saplings, deep digging (9'+) and some field grading for horse pastures and corral, but not for planting. I had spent most of my time concentrating on compact tractors (Kubota and New Holland 45-60 HP range -- those makes only because there are local dealers to my central Massachusetts location). A New Holland dealer suggested I give the skid steers a look (LS 180), so now I'm a confused newbie starting from scratch. A little help, please.

Let's see:

Snowplow/thrower - CUT with plow/blower
Tall heavy brush clearing - CUT with rotary mower (aka brush hog, shredder)
Field grading - CUT with box blade, arena groomer, rear blade (take your pick or picks)

Then you have a toughie: