How many hours?

/ How many hours? #1  

Beaux Duke

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota L48
I'm looking to buy a TLB but I'm new at this game. When looking at the number of hours on a piece of equipment, what's considered "excessive"?

I'm pretty good at looking at a truck and taking mileage into consideration but hours have me stumped. Obviously the lower the better but what sort of useful life (barring breakage and abuse) can you reasonably expect from the loader, the back hoe and the engine on a well maintained piece of equipment?

Hours only tell you how long the engine has been running but not what each attachment has been doing. I can spot the obvious defects such as leaks, bad bushings, etc.

So is 300 hours a year a lot?
Is 1000 hours for a 2 year old model excessive?
Is 4000 hours the equavalient to 100,000 miles on a truck?

Sorry for so many questions, but as I said, I'm new at this game.

/ How many hours? #2  
8000 without a rebuild and it's getting to where it will start costing some.

Industrial TLB's should go 8-10k hours before a rebuild. Companies often trade them off when they reach 6500 to 8000 as they cost is too high. For a business, "cost" includes lost work while a machine is down. So they are more sensitive to both the down time and the repair costs than us casual users.

/ How many hours? #3  
I think it would also depend upon how the TLB was used/abused, and how it was maintained.

I've seen relatively low-hour stuff that appears to have been beaten to death, and high-hour stuff that looked pristine.

/ How many hours?
Well, I agree with you Lunk, that's why I'm only looking at units that haven't been abused. I can usually spot signs of covering up problems with autos but I'm new at the tractor game.

I'm looking at either a Kubota L39 or Deere 310. Nothing industrial although the ads would lead you to believe that.