Buying a 1531 TLB

/ Buying a 1531 TLB #1  

3dayfunk

Tractor
Massey Ferguson 1531
I've been in the process of buying a 1531 TLB for about 3 or 4 weeks. My dealer ordered it and informed me that it was "new in the crate" and being shipped from Texas. Two days ago he called and said he was putting the finishing touches on it and that it would be ready for pick up in a day or so. I drove by to see it. The tractor is very brand new. It has that new car smell about it. But as I examined the tractor, I noticed the backhoe had some minor scuffs. The loader had some scuffs and minor scratches also and it appeared the paint on the loader was slightly, very slightly, faded. I asked the dealer about these things and he said that the tractor was new in the crate but that the backhoe and loader were already in stock. He assured me that this is how it is done in the world of equipment dealers. I don't know. This is my first time buying a tractor and I guess I just assumed it was like buying a brand new truck...buying new means...flawless...brand stinking new, right?? So that's my question. Is this how tractors are bought new? With minor scuffs and slightly faded paint? BTW, I played with the backhoe and loader a bit on their backlot and I loved it. Ithink it's the perfect tractor for my needs.

/ Buying a 1531 TLB #2  
"buying new means...flawless...brand stinking new, right?? "

Not in the real world. Loaders, backhoes etc. come strapped to palets and scratched result. Tractor equipment sits outside and paint fades.

Yes that is the way it is with equipment. Tractors are something to use, not fondle.. Scratches and dents are a badge of honor on a tractor and shows that you are a real user and not just a yuppie that managed to get one. Just kidding, Enjoy it you will get many more scuffs.

Andy

/ Buying a 1531 TLB #3