Confused - Need Help

/ Confused - Need Help #1  

dbyrne36

Hello All,

First, I have been browsing the site for a few months and it has been very helpful. However, the deeper I get into looking for a new tractor the more I feel I don't know, so I could use your help.

So here is my situation. I am moving to 10 acres in the next month, and I will probably pick up another adjacent 5 acres next year. The land is primarily wooded, except for the area right around the house and the garden, which is about a 1/4 acre. The property is rocky, but not too bad, and gently slopes down to the lake. Here is what I am looking to do with my new tractor:
- Work the garden
- Move earth (I have A LOT of landscaping to do)
- Move trees (drag logs and move rounds using the bucket)
- Bush hog (but little if any mowing)
- Eventually, with implements, split and chip wood
- And of course anything else I can justify using it for :)

Based on the above, I was thinking that I need a 4x4 tractor with a front loader with at least 20hp. So, in looking at tractors, I narrowed it down to:
- Kubota L2800
- Kubota B3200
- NH TC30

As I was looking at the tractors, though, the prices seemed to get up there pretty fast. Based on that, I am second guessing the direction I was going. So here are my questions I could use your help with:
- Based on what I outlined what size tractor do you think I need?
- What makes/models would you recommend?
- Any other suggestions/input?

I worked my through college on a farm, so I know my way around a tractor, but it has been 20 years since then. So I would appreciate any input. Thanks!

/ Confused - Need Help #2  
Check out a Mahindra 2816 tractor, or if you are really looking for economy check out the Mahindra 2525 tractor.

/ Confused - Need Help #3  
Hello All,

First, I have been browsing the site for a few months and it has been very helpful. However, the deeper I get into looking for a new tractor the more I feel I don't know, so I could use your help.