What would you recommend for 5 Acres??

/ What would you recommend for 5 Acres?? #1  

vpi144

Tractor
BX 2200
Hi,

Just purchased a home with 5 acres in the Boise ID area.
About 1.5 acres is grass/turf. The remaining 3.5 will be pasture and orchard. We have about a 150ft of driveway that will need snow clearance in the winter. I'm thinking 54-60" MMM and a snow blower as options to start.I'm new to mowers and tractors.
I visited the JD dealer since he was a couple of miles away,and he pitched the 4110 and a slightly used 455.
I plan to visit the local Kubota dealer this weekend.

What size machine/model would be good for my situation?

thanks

vin

/ What would you recommend for 5 Acres?? #2  
Vin, it all depends on how much seat time you want.

I think the JD 4110 is a good match. The 455 is a garden tractor not suitable for pasture work.

Other options from the big three in the "small compact tractor size" are:

Kubota BX2200, B7500, B2410 (B2410 compares HP & feature wise with 4110) The BX is lower to the ground & is very stable & manuverable. It does have less as far as loader & three point hitch capacity.

New Holland TC18, TC21D, TC24 (TC21 compares with 4110)

I have a TC18 (18 HP) and it is a good size for my 4 acres. Two acres are cleared part of which is an old apple orchard (don't harvest any yet). If budget was not a concern, I would have gotten more Horsepower, but still gotten a small frame size.

Once you get to medium (JD4210) and large (JD4600) sizes, you gain lots of ablility and also price /w3tcompact/icons/frown.gif, but lose manuverablity.

/ What would you recommend for 5 Acres?? #3  
Try the Kubota B7500. Should be perfect for your size lot, mowing , etc.

/ What would you recommend for 5 Acres?? #4  
As mentioned before take a look at the:

BX22, BX2200, B7500 and B2410.

Then try out a L3010 just for the heck of it.

I have 5 acres and own a L3410. But then again it's overkill.

/ What would you recommend for 5 Acres?? #5  
Hi Vin,