New guys take on pros & cons of 45 HP range of CUT's

Status
Not open for further replies.
   / New guys take on pros & cons of 45 HP range of CUT's #1  

Lt CHEG

Platinum Member
Tractor
New Holland T5.120
I've never owned a tractor before but I've used them before. I've also operated backhoe loaders and excavators as well as some other stuff so I at least know how to work equipment, even if I'm far from a pro. The engineer in me likes to evaluate things in spreadsheet form and tractors have been no different. I recently began shopping for a tractor in the 40 to 50 horsepower range to help set up my 6.5 acre home site and then take care of it once the house is up. I figured that I would share with everyone what I've found. Having never owned any equipment before I don't have any brand loyalty nor do I think I have any real bias as I'd be willing to spend the money on any one of the following brands. My evaluation comes based on comparing features, as well as my impression of operating the tractors. Some things are very subjective in evaluation, such as feel for controls, etc. so I am not ashamed of the fact that the following are my opinions, even if based upon factual numbers.