minimum tractor for moving 1000lbs. round bales

/ minimum tractor for moving 1000lbs. round bales #1  

Spenceripd

Hello,
I am new to tractors and new to the forum. I have 4 acres with horses. I have a worn out 9n Ford which I use to mow the place and that is about it. We are switching from square to round bales for several reasons. I know I can't move 1000+ lb. round bales with my 9n. I know there are other options (hay dollys etc.) and I am looking at all options at this point. One option I am considering is a bigger tractor.

My 9n is in bad shape and I have to work on it about every third time I use it. Moving the round bales is also a nice excuse to get a different tractor. I would like to get a good used tractor for around $5,000.

What is the minimum size tractor I would need to move up to in order to safely move the big bales with a spear on the 3pt. ? What model tractors do you suggest I look at ?

Thanks for any advice.

/ minimum tractor for moving 1000lbs. round bales #2  
Hello,
I am new to tractors and new to the forum. I have 4 acres with horses. I have a worn out 9n Ford which I use to mow the place and that is about it. We are switching from square to round bales for several reasons. I know I can't move 1000+ lb. round bales with my 9n. I know there are other options (hay dollys etc.) and I am looking at all options at this point. One option I am considering is a bigger tractor.

My 9n is in bad shape and I have to work on it about every third time I use it. Moving the round bales is also a nice excuse to get a different tractor. I would like to get a good used tractor for around $5,000.

What is the minimum size tractor I would need to move up to in order to safely move the big bales with a spear on the 3pt. ? What model tractors do you suggest I look at ?

Thanks for any advice.

My old 1964 MF-135 diesel (45 hp engine, 37 hp pto) weighs about 3500 lb and the 3pt hitch can lift 2850 lb. I paid $3600 for it in Jul06.

DSCF0008-small.JPG