Looking for my True (Tractor) Love

/ Looking for my True (Tractor) Love #1  

Anianna

I am a tractor newbie with 13 acres and a budget. Please forgive my ignorance, but all of my online research has been somewhat contradictory or just downright confusing. We don't have a lot of tractor dealerships nearby, so I haven't had much opportunity to do on-site research. We do have a John Deere dealer about 30 minutes away and Kubota and Massey Ferguson dealers about an hour away. I'm not sure if there are others.

Property Breakdown

Fields
About half of the property is field we allow a local farmer to use and we would do little to nothing with those for the foreseeable future. The fields are mostly flat, but do contain a number of gopher holes.

Lawn and Rough

About 1/4 of the property needs some form of mowing. Around the house I would like to mow neatly, about an acre give or take. About three acres out by the barn just needs a rough trim and may tend to get relatively high before I take care of it. These areas are mostly flat with only mild grade. However, there are a few rough spots and one ridge that I hadn't noticed under the overgrowth when we bought the place but is very noticeable when you try to run a riding mower through that area. It rises about 2ft at its peak and runs for a length of about 20 ft.

Woods
The remaining quarter of the property is largely wooded and there are some areas where I would like to keep down the underbrush as we get a lot of briars and prickers. The area of woods I would like to tend is perhaps an acre or two. There are some hilly spots in our woods, but the area I expect to tend is only mildly inclined.

Driveway