Buying Advice Ford 3000 Diesel Questions

/ Ford 3000 Diesel Questions #1  

jstraw124

I'm new to the forum, and this is my first post. I'm a rookie when it comes to any tractors beside my JD x300. As I was asking for opinions on a potential purchase, I was told the place to get answers was on this forum.

I have a friend that has been a widow for about 8 years now, we have been coworkers and good friends for the past 15yrs. She has decided to sell her late husband's tractor, and gave me first option. The amount she offered to sell it to me for, looks low to me. I want to be fair and try to make a reasonable deal for both her and me. So I was looking for a reasonable price range you would expect for this tractor.

Now, about the tractor, it's a 1970 Ford 3000 diesel. Her husband bought it new and has all the original paper work and service records. It has a little over 1,000 hours on it and was mainly used for mowing and snow removal. I've run the tractor and it runs great with all fluids clean, along with strong hydrolics. The transmission is 8 forward/2 reverse and is 2 wheel drive. It has live 540 PTO, and has a new battery and tires that were installed before the winter snows. It isn't run often, but her son did plow her driveway with it this winter. It's a very clean tractor and has been garaged kept for it's life.

Along with the tractor the deal includes 3 attachments. The first is a front blade, purchased original with the tractor. The second is a rear rake that is also original. It looks like the rake is about 8' to 10' wide. The third is a Land Pride grooming mower with a 72" cut. It is newer and was purchased a couple of years before her husband died. It also has a weight for the rear, if you only have the front blade mounted.