Buy a model sitting on the lot for over a year??

/ Buy a model sitting on the lot for over a year?? #1  

beppington

Elite Member
Tractor
Here
I'm very new to tractors ...

A local dealer (no brand mentioned, yet anyway) has several models on his lot that have been on his lot for over a year, & are priced lower. One way lower, & I think he said it's been on the lot over two years.

I asked what year this one was, and the sales guy told me "Tractors don't have model years, they just have sort of 'build dates' or 'how long they've been on the lot' periods."

Is that true? Just curious. I've never been a fan of buying used stuff; I always feel like you're buying somebody else's problems. Even if it is at a discount. (I did notice that the little paper sticker labels have serial #'s or codes or whatever starting with "09...") ... Hmmm.

The one that's been on the lot over 2 years made this "interesting" groan as I moved forward on it; Hopefully only rusty brakes getting rolling again, but I dunno, sounded more painful/ serious than just that.

/ Buy a model sitting on the lot for over a year?? #2  
I'm very new to tractors ...

A local dealer (no brand mentioned, yet anyway) has several models on his lot that have been on his lot for over a year, & are priced lower. One way lower, & I think he said it's been on the lot over two years.

I asked what year this one was, and the sales guy told me "Tractors don't have model years, they just have sort of 'build dates' or 'how long they've been on the lot' periods."

Is that true? Just curious. I've never been a fan of buying used stuff; I always feel like you're buying somebody else's problems. Even if it is at a discount. (I did notice that the little paper sticker labels have serial #'s or codes or whatever starting with "09...") ... Hmmm.